Jolanta Sosnowska – Baroque Violin Solo

Jul 20, 2021 | 7:00 pm
St. Aegyd Church, Pötzleinsdorfer Str. 108 | 1180 Vienna


Nicola MATTEÏS Jr (1670-1737)
Fantasia in a „Alia Fantasia“, c. 1720

Johann Joseph VILSMAYR (1663–1722)
Artificiosus Concentus pro Camera, 1715:
Partia I A-Dur

Johann Sebastian BACH (1685-1750)
Sei Solo a Violino senza Basso accompagnato, c. 1720
Partita II d-Moll, BWV 1004

Ignaz Franz von BIBER (1644-1704)
Mystery Sonatas, 1670
Passacaglia g-Moll

A concert program for connoisseurs of refined soloistic music. In the baroque period, Austrian and German composers created dreamlike Cathedrals of Harmony out of a single violin’s tone—sanctuaries in which emotions and silence merge into a unity of sound; a climax of music.
In an evening filled with baroque splendor, virtuosity, emotions, and delicacy, Polish violinist and Baroque Music specialist Jolanta Sosnowska will perform the most spectacular pieces of the 17th and 18th century for solo violin. Embraced by the mood and beauty of the baroque church St. Aegyd, she will bring the music of four composers to life: Johann Sebastian Bach and Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, as well as the less commonly known old masters Johann Joseph Vilsmayr and Nicola Matteis.